Graduation Day- Round One

(I’m behind on my writing updates!)

Today I skipped across the stage, and was handed my first of many colllege diplomas, I’m starting a collection. It was an odd sensation being back in the world of Columbus State but so reminiscent of the many changes.
Laura, Meredith and the STEM Club wasn’t there as they were the spring before last, it wasn’t the anticipation of going to Ohio State suspending in the air, but a mild anxiety of my OSU finals this coming week. And I wasn’t sitting there with old friends from two years of CSCC, I made new friends in the seats beside me and my best friend sat in the stands beside my mother cheering for me, picking me up to spin me around when it was over πŸ™‚

As my sister and I both obtained our Associates, it was a moment of togetherness that I hadn’t felt since she was married. And as Dr. Harrison spoke with pride of my accomplishments, and hugged me before shaking my hand, a wave of confidence was reinstilled within me. I can do this. Whatever this is, I can do it. I have done it before and I will do it again.

The feelings were different but the moments just as precious, joyful, delightful. It’s the people we meet, connect with, and interact with, at the end of the day, at the end of two years (or more) of work, it’s the hugs you get that day from the people you love that matter more than the piece of paper πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

