Kicking off My Cast With Herbs

          As a blooming ethno-botanist, I will find a herbal cure or experiment with some sort of concoction long before turning to any sort of Western medicine.

        And now that I have some mandatory rest-time (thanks to a shattered ankle and a heavy, fiberglass cast), I have all the time in the world to learn and write more about herbalism!! I appreciate any comments, feedback and input as I am starting to learn!  Particularly as it pertains to piecing my shattered ankle back together and into yoga/running/rock-climbing/hiking/surfing/adventure/whatever-else-I-can-imagine shape!

        For starters, the swelling was miserable for the first few days, (granted I walked for about half an hour on the ankle, thinking it wasn’t broken-I DON’T recommend such a thing). Not to mention, healing can only occur after the swelling has subsided since the swelling decreases the blood flow to the wound site, and the blood is carrying all the necessary nutrients necessary for repair to get to the site(s) of the break. And while elevation and rest are helpful, here’s some splendid herbs that have helped alleviate swelling and hasten the healing. 

turmeric
Raw Turmeric Roots

Turmeric(Curcuma longa for those Lineas fans in the house): It’s pure magic! It’s an incredible herb for it’s anti-inflammatory, anti-parasitic and blood-purifying properties. It can be used to treat digestive issues, parasites, or applied in a paste with chickpeas to speed up healing of cuts (it’s like hummus for your wounds!! YUM!) Thankfully, today, I only need it for the anti-inflammatory properties to bring the swelling of my ankle from size 12 to it’s normal size 8W (I have hobbit feet, don’t judge me), so I’m ingesting it in the form of tonic.

AND did you know that in India, the regular use of Turmeric in cooking is connected with the decreased rates of cardiovascular problems and cancer rates! The only catch is it’s bioavailability. What in the world is that you may ask? It’s the ability for your body to metabolize and use the active ingredients in Turmeric (which in this case is Curcumin (diferuloylmethane)). Typically, in Indian food pepper increases the bioavailability of turmeric, but since I’m not into highly peppered pills, I’m taking the tonic version!

 

Just be careful, turmeric will stain everything you own, which IF you like a yellowy tint to your world, should be just fine!

comfrey
The Lovely Comfrey Flowers

Comfrey (Symphytum officinale-literally meaning “combined together plant officinale) – This is the go-to herb for skin and bone-healing as it was used for this purpose by the ancient Greeks centuries ago. It is typically made into a salve and applied to help everything from wounds and scars to muscle aches and wouldn’t ya’ know it: broken bones. Unfortunately, the doctors glued a giant cast on my ankle to ensure I won’t wiggle this thing around, so I am taking comfrey as a part of a tea, in order to ingest properties from comfrey root that encourage healing from the inside-out.

Comfrey is also essential for reduction of inflammation in the joints, so with Comfrey and Turmeric teaming-up, I have all the swelling to a minimum!

Leave a Reply

