Horsetail Happiness

Today’s herbal angel is Horsetail (Equisetum arvense-[literally horse of the grass or meadow] you can always count on Lineas for creativity….NOT)

Equisetum arvense
Photo credit: The Internets (http://luirig.altervista.org/schedenam/fnam.php?taxon=Equisetum+arvense

This is a Silica jackpot with up to 70% found in these plants!! AND Silica is GOLD when it comes to bone formation- which is exactly what I am working on; I currently have 209 bones while the normal adult has 206.  And while I’m trying to piece those four parts back together I require lots of silica, calcium and magnesium. So besides horsetail, I am ingesting TONS of raw spinach (future Popeye the sailor, here) and getting sunshine to absorb that vitamin D that metabolizes Calcium.

And if you’d still like to make use of this intriguing cousin of the fern, the silica is also useful in polishing metal! ( I will use that AFTER the cast comes off to polish the screws keeping my bones in place) .

This plant is also amazing for stopping bleeding and treating ulcers and inflammation. Ironically enough the this plant also contains enzymes (called thiaminase) that can be harmful to horses.

          Does anyone else feel like a doctor when they get hurt and suddenly read up everything there is on their malady? Just call me Doctor Dawn 😉  

 

 

